Wednesday , Apr , 06 , 2005 C.Y. Ellis

South Carolina heads Alaska Shootout field

Columbia, SC (Sports Network) – South Carolina, champions of the National
Invitation Tournament, will headline the 2005 edition of the Great Alaska

The 28th annual eight-team college basketball tournament in Anchorage is
scheduled for November 22-26.

South Carolina will be joined in this year’s field by Marquette, Eastern
Washington, Monmouth, Oral Roberts, Southern California and the host school,
Alaska Anchorage. One team will be announced at a later date.

“I am pleased to be included in the Great Alaska Shootout,” said South
Carolina head coach Dave Odom. “It will serve as a very strong early test for
our team. All the teams in the Great Alaska Shootout should be quality

South Carolina played in the 1990 Great Alaska Shootout and finished third,
while Marquette won the title in 2001. Southern California last played in
Anchorage in 1983.

The other schools, aside from Alaska Anchorage, will make their Great Alaska
Shootout debuts.