Monday , Apr , 03 , 2006 C.Y. Ellis

Redick, Wright capture Naismith honors

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) – Duke guard J.J. Redick was named the
Naismith Trophy Men’s College Player of the Year, while Villanova’s
Jay Wright was honored as the Naismith College Coach of the Year.

Redick led Duke to the Atlantic Coast Conference regular season and tournament
titles, averaging 27.4 points per game, good for second in the country, as the
Blue Devils amassed a 32-4 record.

An All-American, Redick was named the ACC’s Player of the Year for the second
year in a row, joining Danny Ferry as the only Duke players to accomplish the
feat. The senior, who is Duke’s and the ACC’s all-time leading scorer with
2,679 points, also converted an NCAA-record 457 three pointers.

Wright, the Big East Coach of the Year, led the Wildcats to a 28-5 record,
including 14-2 in the expanded Big East to earn the school’s first share of
the conference regular season title since 1997.

Sparked by a unique four guard attack, Villanova defeated its first top-ranked
team, tied its highest national ranking (No. 2) and earned a number one seed
in the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history, reaching the
Elite Eight.