Monday , Mar , 05 , 2007 C.Y. Ellis

Niagara secures tourney berth by winning MAAC title

Bridgeport, CT (Sports Network) – Tyrone Lewis poured in 24 points, had five
rebounds and five steals to lead Niagara past Siena, 83-79, in the Metro
Atlantic Athletic Conference Tournament championship game as the Purple Eagles
secured a spot in the NCAA Tournament.

Lorenzo Miles added 21 points and dished out five assists for Niagara (22-11),
which has won 11 straight games.

Clif Brown had 14 points and 16 boards while Charron Fisher donated 13 and 12
rebounds for the Purple Eagles, who also won the MAAC title in 2005.

Alex Franklin netted a game-high 27 points and pulled down 11 rebounds for the
Saints (20-12), who committed 15 turnovers. Kenny Hasbrouck contributed 15
points in the loss.

With the score knotted up at 73-73, Fisher drove hard to the lane hit the
scoop shot, drew a foul and hit a free throw to complete the three-point
play to give Niagara a 76-73 lead with 3:15 remaining in the contest.

Franklin then hit two shots from the charity stripe to pull Siena within a
point with about three minutes on the clock.

Stanley Hodge gave the Purple Eagles their three-point lead back after hitting
a running jumper in the lane to make it 78-75 with about 2 1/2 minutes

After a time out, Franklin converted a layup to make it a one-point game with
about two minutes to play.

After both team’s missed shots, Siena put Brown on the line and he sunk both
shots to make it 80-77 to seal the victory for Niagara as Hasbrouck’s three-
pointer was short.

The Purple Eagles led 40-35 at halftime.

Game Notes

The Purple Eagles have appeared in four MAAC championship games over the last
six years…The Saints dropped to 2-3 in their last five title games. They won
the championship in 1999 and 2002…J.R. Duffey had nine points and seven
rebounds for Niagara…Ronald Moore had 12 points and six boards in the loss
for Siena.