Sunday , Apr , 01 , 2007 C.Y. Ellis

Durant captures Naismith honor

Atlanta, GA (Sports Network) – Texas’ Kevin Durant was named the Naismith
Trophy Men’s College Player of the Year.

The 6-9 Durant, likely a top 1-2 pick in the NBA Draft if he decides to leave
school, led the Longhorns to a 25-10 record, averaging 25.8 ppg and 11.1 rpg.
Texas fell just short of a Big 12 Conference Tournament title, falling to
Kansas in the final in overtime. The Longhorns then advanced to the second
round of the NCAA Tournament before losing to USC.

“I was at a loss for words,” Durant said. “It’s being in the same category as
an Elton Brand (1999), Lew Alcindor (1969), Jason Williams (2002). Part of
that family as a Naismith winner, it’s big-time for me.”

It’s the latest in a series of awards for Durant, who was also honored as
the first freshman to win the Oscar Robertson Trophy. He also was named the
winner of the 2007 Adolph F. Rupp Trophy. He is also one of five finalists for
the John R. Wooden Award as the most outstanding college basketball player in
the nation.

Durant beat out three other finalists – Texas A&M’s Acie Law IV, North
Carolina’s Tyler Hansbrough and Wisconsin’s Alando Tucker.

Durant, the first freshman in the history to win the Naismith, is the second
Texas player to win the Naismith Award in five years, following up T.J. Ford’s
honor in 2003.