Monday , Mar , 21 , 2011 Hoopsvibe

Charge or Block? Should Blake Griffin’s dunk on Marcin Gortat have counted?

HoopsVibe’s Very Quick Call: What a waste of a poster job!

Yesterday, Los Angeles Clippers superstar Blake Griffin caught the ball off a pick-and-roll, elevated, and dunked on the Phoenix Suns’ Gortat, who, to his credit, was bravely providing help defense.

Hold off on the youtube clip.

The referees believed Gortat was set, so they called a charging foul on Griffin. The infraction was the Rookie of the Year candidate’s sixth, meaning he had fouled out the game.

Worst of all, it negated a facial of epic proportion.

To be fair, the play happened quickly; however, the zebras in black-and white missed that Gortat’s feet were inside the circle.

Translation: Gortat should’ve been called for a block, and Griffin’s highlight reel jam should’ve counted.

What do you think? Charge or block? Watch the clip and get at us in the comment box below with thoughts!   
 

–Oly Sandor.

Tags: , , ,