Sura’s triple-double nullified
=== Sura’s triple-double nullified ===
New York, NY (Sports Network) – The National Basketball Association on Tuesday
nullified a triple-double recorded by Atlanta’s Bob Sura during Monday’s
129-107 victory over New Jersey.
In the closing seconds of the contest, Sura intentionally missed a layup and
grabbed the rebound, his 10th of the game to go along with 22 points and 11
The NBA rule book states that “a field goal attempt is a player’s attempt to
shoot the ball into the basket for a field goal.” The NBA ruled that Sura did
not attempt a field goal and thus there was no rebound.
The league’s decision prevented Sura from becoming the first player to
register a triple-double in three straight games since Grant Hill accomplished
the feat in April of 1997.