Sunday , May , 02 , 2004 C.Y. Ellis

National Basketball Association Playoff Game Capsules

New Orleans, LA (Sports Network) – P.J. Brown collected 16 points and nine
rebounds to lead New Orleans over Miami, 89-83, in Game 6 of their Eastern
Conference quarterfinal set. George Lynch also netted 16 points and Baron
Davis contributed 15 points and 12 assists for the Hornets, who forced a
decisive Game 7 back in Miami on Tuesday. New Orleans is now one win away
from capturing its first-ever best- of-seven series in its sixth try. Dwyane
Wade posted a game-high 27 points and added seven boards and six assists
for the Heat, who will look to continue a trend when the series shifts back
to AmericanAirlines Arena. The home team has won the first six games of this
opening-round matchup. In addition, the Heat have won 15 consecutive games
at home, including the final 12 regular-season games they hosted. Most of the
game was played with two officials. Joe Crawford was forced to leave in the
first quarter due to an apparent torn tendon in his foot, leaving the
duties to just Blane Reichelt and Sean Corbin.

Final Score: San Antonio 88, LA Lakers 78

San Antonio, TX (Sports Network) – Tim Duncan poured in 30 points and pulled
down 11 rebounds, as the San Antonio Spurs defeated the Los Angeles Lakers,
88-78, in the opener of their Western Conference semifinal series at SBC
Center. The Spurs, who have won 16 in a row at home dating back to the regular
season, will also host Game 2 of the best-of-seven matchup on Wednesday.
Tony Parker collected 20 points and nine assists for San Antonio, which
outscored Los Angeles 26-13 in the fourth quarter. Manu Ginobili chipped in
11 points and six boards for the defending champion Spurs, who remained
unbeaten in the 2004 post-season (5-0) and have won 16 straight overall going
back to the regular campaign. Kobe Bryant paced Los Angeles with 31 points
and also hauled in 10 rebounds. Shaquille O’Neal contributed 19 points and 13
boards for the Lakers. The teams have combined to win the last five NBA
championships. San Antonio captured the title in 1999 and 2003, while Los
Angeles accomplished the feat three straight years from 2000-02.