Thursday , Apr , 01 , 2010 C.Y. Ellis

Duncan earns eighth-straight All-NBA selection

=== Duncan earns eighth-straight All-NBA selection ===

New York, NY (Sports Network) – Tim Duncan was named to the All-NBA First Team
for the eighth year in a row Wednesday, joining Hall of Famers Larry Bird,
George Mikan, Bob Pettit and Oscar Robertson as the only players to receive
the honor in each of their first eight seasons.

Also named to the first team were Miami Heat center Shaquille O’Neal, forward
Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks, and guards Allen Iverson of the
Philadelphia 76ers and Steve Nash of the Phoenix Suns.

Nash, named the NBA’s Most Valuable Player after guiding the Suns to a 33-win
turnaround in the regular season, was second in voting to O’Neal, who received
616 points from a panel of 124 writers and broadcasters throughout the United
States and Canada.

O’Neal finished second in MVP voting, but received more First Team votes (122)
than did Nash (118). This is O’Neal’s seventh selection to the First Team, and
Nash’s first.

Duncan finished third in overall points and First Team votes, and Nowitzki was
fourth in both categories after averaging career-highs in scoring, assists and
blocks this season.

Nowitzki was a First Team selection for the first time in his career after
making the Second and Third Teams twice.

Iverson finished fifth in both points and First Team votes, earning his third
selection to the First Team after winning his fourth scoring title (30.7 ppg).
Wilt Chamberlain, Michael Jordan and George Gervin are the only other players
with at least four scoring titles.

Of the First Team selections, only Iverson’s 76ers are not currently alive in
the playoffs.

Cleveland Cavaliers star LeBron James was named to the All-NBA Second Team as
a forward, leading the second tier of vote-getters with 421 points and 45
First Team votes.

Joining James on the Second team were Minnesota Timberwolves forward Kevin
Garnett, Phoenix center Amare Stoudemire, and guards Dwyane Wade of Miami and
Ray Allen of the Seattle SuperSonics.

Wade received 35 First Team votes, Garnett had 34, Stoudemire garnered nine
and Allen just one.

The Third Team featured three players who received First Team votes: Houston
Rockets guard Tracy McGrady (15), Los Angeles Lakers guards Kobe Bryant (1)
and Washington Wizards guard Gilbert Arenas (1).

Suns forward Shawn Marion and Detroit Pistons center Ben Wallace rounded out
the Third Team.