Thursday , Dec , 15 , 2005 C.Y. Ellis

Yao leads all vote-getters for 2006 All-Star Game

=== Yao leads all vote-getters for 2006 All-Star Game ===

New York, NY (Sports Network) – Houston Rockets center Yao Ming received the
most total votes after the first returns in the 2006 NBA All-Star program.

The program enables NBA fans from around the globe to vote in the starters for
the 55th NBA All-Star Game, which will take place at the Toyota Center in
Houston, TX on Sunday, February 19, 2006.

Yao has collected 729,178 votes, which leads all Western Conference centers by
a substantial margin. Denver’s Marcus Camby is currently second among big men,
as he has garnered 250,312 votes.

In addition to Yao, Houston forward Tracy McGrady leads all West forwards by
receiving 600,507 votes. Kevin Garnett of the Timberwolves is second with
469,497 votes while San Antonio’s Tim Duncan is third in voting following the
first returns.

Los Angeles’ Kobe Bryant and Phoenix’s Steve Nash, the reigning league MVP,
have distanced themselves as the top two vote-getters from the guard position
in the West. Bryant has amassed 664,744 votes, compared to 562,846 for Nash.

In the Eastern Conference, Cleveland forward LeBron James has tallied the most
votes (665,849), while Heat center Shaquille O’Neal is second in voting
despite missing most of the season with a sprained ankle. O’Neal has received
646,085 votes, just over 300,000 more than the next center, Detroit’s Ben

Indiana’s Jermaine O’Neal is second for forwards and has 387,893 votes, while
Detroit’s Rasheed Wallace has accumulated 186,911 tallies.

Allen Iverson leads all East guards in votes, as the Sixer has racked up
638,999 votes. Miami’s Dwyane Wade is in second with 479,774 tallies while
Nets shooting guard Vince Carter sits in third after the first returns.