Tuesday , Apr , 25 , 2006 C.Y. Ellis

Mavs’ Avery Johnson named NBA Coach of the Year

Dallas, TX (Sports Network) – Dallas Mavericks head coach Avery Johnson was
awarded the Red Auerbach Trophy as 2005-06 NBA Coach of the Year on Tuesday.

Johnson tallied 63 first-place votes and 419 points to capture the honor. Last year’s winner, Mike D’Antoni of the Phoenix Suns, finished second with 27 first-place votes and 247 points. Detroit’s Flip Saunders came in third place with 18 first-place votes and 223 points.

Johnson won the award in his first full season at the helm of the Mavericks after piloting a defensive minded team that set a franchise record for fewest points allowed per game.

The former point guard took over the Mavericks when Don Nelson resigned in March of 2005 and his 66-16 start over his first 82 games as a head coach is the best mark in NBA history.

Johnson led the Mavericks to a 60-22 record this season, the third best finish in the NBA and tied for the best season in franchise history.

In 16 NBA seasons, Johnson played 1,054 games and averaged 8.4 points and 5.5 assists. He spent most of his playing career in San Antonio, where he remains their all-time leader in assists and was part of the team’s 1999 NBA championship club.