Monday , Feb , 05 , 2007 C.Y. Ellis

Robinson to defend dunk title

New York, NY (Sports Network) – New York’s Nate Robinson headlines a field of
four contestants set to compete in the 2007 Slam Dunk competition to be held
on NBA All-Star Saturday Night on February 17 at the Thomas & Mack Center in
Las Vegas.

Joining Robinson in the dunk contest are Boston’s Gerald Green, Orlando’s
Dwight Howard and Chicago’s Tyrus Thomas.

The 5-foot-9 Robinson will be attempting to capture his second straight
title. Since the inception of the event in 1984, only two players have won
back-to-back Slam Dunk championships. Michael Jordan won the 1987 and 1988
contests, and Jason Richardson won in 2002 and 2003. Dominique Wilkins and
Harold Miner also garnered the honors as the best dunker twice, but did not
win in back-to-back years.

The NBA All-Star Game will take place the day after the competition.