Thursday , May , 03 , 2007 C.Y. Ellis

Bulls’ Deng wins NBA Sportsmanship Award

New York, NY (Sports Network) – Chicago Bulls forward Luol Deng was the
recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy, presented to the 2006-07 NBA Sportsmanship
Award winner.

Deng represented the Central as one of six divisional winners, joining
Atlanta’s Joe Johnson (Southeast), Houston’s Shane Battier (Southwest),
the Los Angeles Clippers’ Elton Brand (Pacific), Toronto’s Anthony Parker
(Atlantic) and Utah’s Derek Fisher (Northwest).

He then received 2,027 points in the final balloting to edge Battier, who
received 2,005 points.

Originally presented following the 1995-96 season, the Sportsmanship Award
honors a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court —
ethical behavior, fair play and integrity.

The trophy is named after former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe
Dumars, the award’s first recipient.