Argentina's Campazzo cheap shots Carmelo Anthony and we got the video.
HoopsVibe's Very Quick Call: Careful what you ask for Argentina. Melo might just drop 37 points on you to shut you up.
The incident happened at the end of the 3rd quarter with the U.S. leading Argentina 102-76. The game was likely out of reach, although Argentina had come back from a 20 point deficit on the U.S. in an earlier game just weaks before to only lose by 4.
Carmelo Anthony was squaring up to take a transition 3-pointer when Argentina's smallest player Facundo Campazzo, their feisty reserve point guard, decided to punch Anthony in the groin. Anthony immediately fell the to floor in pain. Note, the shot went it. Just goes to show you punching Melo in the family jewels won't throw off his shot. You'd have better luck simply talking trash about his inability to win a ring or play selfishly. (Just an idea)
The incident immediately resulted in a possible serious situation and team U.S.A. players came over to defend their attacked teammate and Argentine players ran over to make sure someone didn't decide to make tiny little Campazzo into a hood ornament on their Bentley.
Mike Krzyzweski former-Knicks coach Mike D'Antoni both saw the cheap shot and erupted off the bench screaming at both the referee and the player, but the international refs somehow missed it. This is actually completely believable because these refs have managed to miss a lot of fouls. They appear to be watching more games than reffing them.
"He got hit in the groin," said coach K. ""That's why he buckled over. He wasn't celebrating the shot."
"We saw it all," said Anthony's Knick teammate, Tyson Chandler. "It was a cheap shot. He hit him in an area where you don't want to get hit. We all represent our countries. This is the Olympics. You never want to go like that."
After the game Campazzo insisted he didn't intentionally hit Anthony in the groin. Yeah, good luck selling that one. Oh, he made himself look even more innocent by then insisting Chris Paul had hit him earlier in the game. So then I guess you did intentionally hit Anthony. He can't have it both ways. He can't say, he didn't intentionally hit Anthony AND Chris Paul hit him earlier so it's justified.
Anyway, it was silly because the game meant nothing to either team's standing. Team U.S.A. were already a lock to finish their grouping in first place and team Argentina was locked to finish 3rd. These two teams could meat again and if they do, it should be a chippy affair.
Photo Credit: WENN